School Login


The development of the Australian Curriculum is guided by the Melbourne Declaration on Educational Goals for Young Australians, adopted by MCEETYA state and territory Education Ministers in December 2008. July 2012 marked the beginning of a three year implementation phase for Western Australian schools. In 2015 the first phase of implementation was cmplete with schools fully implementing the Australian Curriculum in English, Science, Maths and History. The Australian Curriculum sets out what all young people should be taught through the specification of curriculum content and the learning expected at points in their schooling through the specification of achievement standards. The Western Australian Education Department has selected 60 schools to take on lead roles in supporting the implementation in different learning areas. Waggrakine Primary school was selected as one of these schools and is responsible for leading early childhood and middle childhood literacy development for the department to share out outcomes, plans and strategies with our department schools. Currently schools continue to be guided by the Western Australian Curriculum Framework.

A focus of the Australian Curriculum is the implementation of the Cross Curricula Priorities in
  • Asia and Australia's engagement with Asia
  • Aboriginal and Torres Straight Islander and Cultures
  • Sustainabity

Western Australian schools are committed under the Curriculum Council Act 1997 to implement the Curriculum Framework.  The Curriculum Framework sets out the 'knowledge, understandings, skills, values and attitudes that students are expected to acquire'. These requirements are described as a series of learning outcomes. The outcomes include overarching outcomes and learning area outcomes. Schools must ensure that the learning and teaching programs provide learning opportunities aimed at achieving the outcomes set out in the Curriculum Framework.

Click on any of the links to find see how we are covering each of these Learning Areas at Waggrakine.

Specialist teachers for 2012 are Visual Arts, Music, Physical Education, Languages other than English in Wajarri or Indonesian and Science.
Waggrakine plays host to a number of workshops to assist in networking teachers across a number of learning areas.

Early Childhood Network meeting in term 2 2011
Website by Scoop Design